Posted in writing

THANK YOU TO MY 2010 WRITING MENTORS

One of the issues I have with academic writing is that it is normally boring for or over the heads of nonacademics. It is my goal to write on academic topics in a way so that nonacademics understand and even enjoy the writing. I had no plan on how to do it; but shortly after I completed my doctorate, I was introduced to Dr. Cheryl and The Refractive Thinker philosophy. I thought it would be a good fit for what I wanted to do.

For my first book, Volume IV, I was given a mentor, Dr. Ed to assist me. During our first call, I told him what I wanted to do. He said, “You know what you are doing, go for it!” Those encouraging words gave me the confidence to compare my study to a couple of popular topics: the book, The Tipping Point, and the reality televsion show, Survivor. The response I received from this chapter told me that I had  taken the first step toward my goal.

For the next book, Volume V, I really pushed the envelope. I wrote about the theory of how to manage using my Pulling, Pushing, Patting theory of leadership. I told Dr. Cheryl what I was doing and told her to feel free to reject it if she believed it was too populist. Instead, she handed the chapter over to my Peer-Review Committee. Thanks to the attentions of Dr. Laura, Dr. Tom, and Dr. Elmer, my chapter became even better and was chosen for the book. The response I have received from this chapter tells me that I have achieved the goal I set for myself.  Many friends and relatives have commented that they read it and that they understood it. And then they gave me the ultimate praise. They interpreted my words back to me using theiir own, telling me how they were going to use the theory to make things better in their own environments.

So, accept my sincere thank you for your assistance in helping me realize my goal this year!  And in my populist voice, allow me to add, “You Rock!”

Sheila

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

