Posted in writing

TRAVELOGUE-DENVER-STAR DATE 2011.0807: The Power Of The Eyebrows

My first week of Denver assignment is complete.

Monday I worked with an officer at the front desk. In Califiornia, the front desk officers changed duties often. Because of this and concerns for their safety, personal items were not allowed. However, here in Denver the front desk officers decorated their desks with personal possessions. The officer I shadowed had pictures of his children, their fingerpaintings and his medals from his previous military career. These medals dated back to Operation Just Cause forward through the current Iraqi and Afghanistan missions. There were also thank you notes from satisfied customers and another medal apart from the others. This medal was a gift from another satisfied customer. How sweet was that? In the afternoon, I worked a naturalization ceremony where 57 people from 32 countries were sworn in as new United States citizens. Things have changed a lot since I worked naturalization. Now those that pass their interviews in the morning can return in the afternoon for their swearing in ceremony. Very nice and very efficient.

Tuesday my assignment was the Records Department where I observed the inner movements of paperwork that keeps the officers working and the agency moving forward.

Wednesday it was out in the field for me as I shadowed one of our officers as he went around to various businesses verfying certain applicants were working where they were supposed to be working and doing what they were supposed to be doing. We traveled to Ft. Collins and Boulder as we investigated computer companies, graphic design companies, universities, a teaching veterinary hospital and the national center for atmospheric research (where they study clouds). Boulder is beautiful. In my opinion, it is Colorado’s version of Sedona.

It is interesting to note that my power of the eyebrows still exists. I’ve never observed this phenonmenon because it is automatic on my part; however, I’ve noticed that folks always react quickly when the head tilts just a bit and the eyebrows arch upward to a statement made by someone.  In the case this week, it was a secretary telling us the person was in a meeting and could not be disturbed. I was shadowing the officer so I remained quiet. However my eyebrows did not. She backtracked as if she had been threatened and gathered the person we wanted to see with quick dispatch. I wish I could see what others see. No matter, I’m pleased I have this tool in my arsenal.

Thursday was all about reports.

Friday was back out in the field, this time on marriage investigations. Not a lot can be said here except some were legit and some were not.  Next week I go back into the world of management, but I enjoyed this week of being one of the officers again. It was good to see what everyone does, their successes and challenges.

In the evenings I continued reading Colin Powell’s book.  Here are this week’s quotes I liked:

“You don’t know what you can get away with until you try.”

“If you get the dirty end of a stick, sharpen it and turn it into a useful tool.”

“Never wrestle with a pig. The pig has fun and you just get dirty.”

“Leadership is the art of accomplishing more than science of management says is possible.”

And my favorite one about his father,

“He was never daunted by rank, place or ceremony. Luther Powell belonged wherever Luther Powell happened to be.”

Saturday: Check out the link with my nephew the paramedic helping out a local football team.  Because of the heat, Denver is holding football practices before sunrise.  It look’s like West Virginia is trying something different by ensuring paramedics are standing by to help with heat and other health issues. Whatever the state, the message is clear: Football will go on!.  (Looking good kid!)
http://wvnstv.com/story.cfm?func=viewstory&storyid=104569&catid=113#.Tj2hn4AF3t5.email

Finally, Sunday is Dad’s Birthday. Gone too soon and too long. You are loved and  missed still!               Love, “Ed’s Shadow.”

*Powell, C. My American Journey. 1995. New York, Random House

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

4 thoughts on “TRAVELOGUE-DENVER-STAR DATE 2011.0807: The Power Of The Eyebrows

  1. In my 27-year military career with 13-years overseas I never had personal items on my desk except for my coffee mug, which seemed to get washed monthly and lose its character for a few days :-).

  2. My Favorite Definition of Leadership:
    Leadership is the capacity to influence others through (or comes from) inspiration generated by a passion, motivated by a vision, birthed by a conviction, produced by a purpose. (Myles Munroe, 2007, Bob Harrison Increase Event, Maui Hawaii)
    Leadership is the capacity to influence others through inspiration generated by a passion, motivated by a vision, birthed by a conviction, and produced by a purpose. Working backward, when one discovers a purpose this can lead to a conviction or belief which leads to a vision that takes one to a passion to achieve which inspires people which results in influence.
    Leadership is by inspiration and motivation not by manipulation, control, or dictatorship. True leaders inspire people to willfully stay, work, and perform.
    Thanks Sheila, Love you

  3. To-The-Lady-With-THE-Eyebrow, Boulder can never be Sedona. Take my word for it!

    How much more “shadowing” will you have to do before we see you down here in God’s country?

    1. My Executive Program ends March 9, 2012. After that, hopefully my life will be my own again….that is until I say “yes” to something else. After here…Salt Lake City for a month, then home for a month, then Atlanta for 2 months….then home….then……..

Leave a Reply

