Posted in writing

TRAVELOGUE – SALT LAKE CITY – 2011.0925

Next week is my last one in Salt Lake City. The people have been very courteous and kind, and we’ve accomplished what I came here to do – and accomplished it one week early, just like in Denver.  I like that kind of trend. I say this to say that even though the folks have been great, I would not like to live in SLC. Why? The electrical cords.

Allow me to explain: When my sister and I traveled to Boston, I had a great time despite the brusque manner of the folks, I loved the Kennedy Library, Cambridge, Long Wharf, Cape Cod, and Nantucket. However, once it was explained to me that those long rods on top of the fire plugs were antenna so the firefighters could find the plugs in the snow, I knew Boston could never be my home.

This week, I noticed some eletrical cords hanging from roofs of commerical buildings. I asked someone about it. These cords are attached to heaters to keep the roofs/gutters unfrozen during the upcoming winter season. Now is the time of year that they begin installing them. So, despite how pretty the area is – and it is – and how kind the people are – and they are – I think now is a good time to complete my assignment. May I never live in a place that needs electrical cords to warm my roof and gutter or antenna on my fire plugs. Coastal breezes anyone?

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

