Posted in writing

HOME: Rainy Day Two

How do you return home from a long trip? I have a friend who returns, puts his ditty bag in the bathroom, hangs up his suits, tosses his dirties in the laundry/dry cleaning bags, and goes on about his business.  For me, it is a process:

  • I accessed the damage – a struggling suitcase gave its all so to the trash with it; a shoulder bag popped a strap and a cocktail dress needs an embellishment repaired so to the seamstress with them; and then the items for the dry cleaner –not too bad for  two months.
  • Then there is the assessment of the clothes left behind.  Besides the out of season and event specific clothing, why did I leave behind the clothes I did?  After a good look,  more clothes were pulled and set aside for the next cousin box. I inventory my closets twice a year, but I also like these after travel checks when the closet is empty. It helps “keep me honest” to paraphrase Anderson Cooper.
  • After all this “hard work,” it was time for a lunch break. I headed downstairs to collect two months of snail mail and grab a sandwich. HINT: Yesterday started a month of $5 footlongs at Subway. So, if you have someone who likes what you like, you can both have a sandwich for $2.50 each. Or if you live alone, you can do what I did which is have them toast only one-half and save the second-half for later.
  • Going through the snail mail was fun, relaxing, and informative. I caught up with a cousin who writes regularly; discovered that a friend who has worked on a long-term, multi-year project is almost ready to share it with the world; and a few sales opportunities that seem promising. The best thing about the snail mail? No bills.  I pay everything online. It is fabulous to return home after two months and find no invoices.
  • Then, paper management. Paper attaches itself to me and is a constant struggle to manage, so the rest of the afternoon was spent corralling the papers and catching up on my TIVO’d shows. I’ve made it through the “C”s, (yes, I watch my saved shows in alphabetical order, it’s easier), and made a dent in the paper war.
  • Finally, there is the adjustment of the home. Despite my best efforts, I too can be a victim of clutter blindness. When I returned home from Kansas City, I determined that the Margaritaville bar was a clutter magnet so I had it dismantled. This time, I decided that a room divider needed to go. Silly? Maybe.  But I like the constant purging. It makes me feel better some how, and it is always easier after returning from sparsely furnished hotel suites.

So, that is my process. Do I end up at the same place as my efficient friend? Sure. But I like my way better. What is your way?

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

