Posted in writing

Live with Intention ~ 2013-1209

 

As I prepare for a week’s vacation, allow me to leave you with some thoughts and exercises from Maria Nemeth, Ph.D. In her book Mastering Life’s ENERGIES: Simple Steps to a Luminous Life at Work and Play, Dr. Nemeth reminds us that success isn’t about working yourself so much that you obtain your goals and complete your priorities at the cost of being physically and mentally exhausted; nor is success giving up your goals and dreams to achieve better health.  A better definition for success is “Success is consistently doing what you said you would do with clarity, focus, ease, and grace. “

How to decide what to do with clarity, focus, ease and grace can be as simple as saying, “I am willing.” Example: “I am saying yes to life’s adventures. I am willing.” Engaging or ‘dancing with your dreams’ is walking your path with luminosity. According to Dr. Nemeth, luminosity is going toward the light, or being in love with the light so much you don’t even worry about the darkness. To determine your path’s luminosity, you must first determine Your Life’s Intentions. The root word of intention means ‘to stretch.’ Some examples of my Life’s Intentions include:

  • To be physically fit and healthy
  • To be a generous friend
  • To be a creator of beauty
  • To be an effective mentor
  • To be financially successful

To add both ideas together, I wrote on a card

  • I am willing to be physically fit and healthy
  • I am willing to be a generous friend
  • I am willing to be a creator of beauty
  • I am willing to be an effective mentor
  • I am willing to be financially successful
  • I am willing to be a well-respected professional

What are you willing to write on a card and carry with you to remind you of your life’s intentions? And what about all the struggles and obstacles? How do we handle them? How do you handle unpredictability? We add another dance step to our dreams when we add another word to our card – “nevertheless.” 

  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be physically fit and healthy
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be a generous friend
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be a creator of beauty
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be an effective mentor
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be financially successful
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be a well-respected professional

Once you determine Your Life’s Intentions, you’ll discover ways to realize them. You discover the ways by adding goals to the statements. Example. I am willing to be a creator of beauty. Goal: I will plant a rose garden.  Example: I am willing to be physically fit and healthy. Goal: I will sign up and run a 10K.

Need more examples to assist you to create your own Life’s Intentions Inventory?  See if any of these phrases speak to you:

  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be a successful artist, sculptor, musician, composer, communicator, entrepreneur, team player
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be a contributor to my community
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be a loving family member
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be spiritually developing
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be an effective teacher, coach, healer, therapist, minister,
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be well traveled
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be an adventurer
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be a visionary leader
  • Nevertheless, I am willing to be a generous friend

What will be on your Life Intentions Card?

 

CITE: Nemeth, M. (2007). Mastering Life’s ENERGIES: Simple Steps to a Luminous Life at Work and Play. New World Library. Novata. California

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

