Posted in spiritual/religious

Universal Truths of Trust

  1. Honesty: Does what I say align with reality or am I deceitful, manipulative, and dishonest to meet my needs?
  2. Respect: Do I demonstrate respect for the value of every individual’s inherent worth, or do I devalue others harsh words, critical thoughts, or compromising actions?
  3. Integrity: Are my actions consistent with my values or do I compromise to get short-term results?
  4. Humility: Do I lift up and support others, or am I focused on exalting myself?
  5. Justice: Do I look out for the best efforts of others or am I willing to get whatever I can, even at others’ expense?
  6. Honor: Do I place purpose and people above self-ambition, or do I seek to achieve my own goals at the expense of others?
  7. Courage: Am I willing to do what is right regardless of the consequences, or do I cave through lack of resolve and unwillingness to pay the price for what is right?
  8. Accountability: Do I take responsibility for outcomes, or do I deny and shirk responsibility?
  9. Commitment: Do I stand firm in my word, or do I break commitments when feelings waiver or obstacles arise?
  10. Under promise and over deliver: Do I deliver what I said I would, or do I make excuses for missing deadlines and agreements?
  11. Emotional intelligence: Do I understand how to maintain a safe and respectful environment when I communicate with people, or am I harsh. demanding, or disrespectful of others?
  12. Decisive: Do I make decisions in a timely manner, or do I delay decisions, allowing others to flounder in ambiguity for long periods of time?
  13. Communicative: Am I open and frequent in communication, or do I withhold communication, conveying that I don’t care about people’s needs or feelings?
  14. Supportive: Is the relationship two-way? Do I consistently seek support, but seldom give it?

CITE: Kucala, D. (June, 2013) The Truthiness of Trustworthiness. Chief Learning Officer.

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

