Posted in self-improvement, spiritual/religious

Mastering Life in 3 Steps – Monkey Mind Vs. Voice of Wisdom

Monkey Mind

  1. A Buddhist term that means the chattering mind that runs from doubt to worry to doubt. It exists in the amygdala that triggers fight, flight, or freeze. It is “cunning, baffling, and powerful.” Examples

i.      Being vague “Maybe….”

ii.      Scarcity thoughts “I don’t have enough….”

iii.      Talking of the past or future as if it is the present “Been there, done that”

iv.      Defensiveness “What do you me I don’t….!”

v.      Taking things personally “I can’t be …. to me”

vi.      Comparing yourself to others “I’ll never be as good as”

vii.      Resignation “It’s too hard” or “It’s the same old same old”

viii.      Being a victim or a martyr  “No one responded”

ix.      Either or thinking “If I don’t….I’ll give up”

x.      Making excuses

xi.      Justification “I know I said I would…..but”

xii.      Rationalization “Everyone speeds….”

xiii.      Fragmentation “there’s part of me that doesn’t have a clue”

xiv.      Deflecting –telling a joke or story to divert attention away from you

xv.      Solidifying – making a metaphor a physical reality “my opinion is rock solid”

xvi.      Impulsiveness “I want it now….”

xvii.      Qualifying statements “Well maybe I could…”

xviii.      Complaining/petulance “I’m fine, it’s everyone else”

xix.      The Metafizzle – “I’m not in harmony with the universe” or “the universe doesn’t want me to do this”

xx.      Being Paranoid “Why am I out of the loop?”

 

Monkey mind is

i.      Insistent “listen to me know.”

ii.      Survival-oriented “body tenses”

iii.      A sense of doom

iv.      Defensive

v.      Humorless (unless using humor to deflect)

 

Voice of wisdom speaks softly , allows you to observe your situation and is

i.      Compassionate to you and others

ii.      Spacious (your heart relaxes)

iii.      Gentle good humor (about yourself or your situation)

iv.      Generous of spirit

v.      A sense of well being

 

CITE: Mastering Life’s Energies: Simple Steps to a Luminous Life at Work and Play, Maria Nemeth, Ph.D. (New World Library, Novato, California, 2007)

Love and light,

Sheila

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

2 thoughts on “Mastering Life in 3 Steps – Monkey Mind Vs. Voice of Wisdom

Leave a Reply

