Posted in self-improvement


From Colgrove’s book, How to survive the loss of a love:

“I sat evaluating myself. I decided to lie down.”

Trust that nature will do the healing. Know that the pain will pass; and when it passes, you will be stronger, happier and more sensitive and aware.

3 stages of recovery:

  • shock, denial, and numbness
  • fear, anger, and depression
  • understanding, acceptance and moving on

Each stage of recovery is necessary, natural, and a part of the healing process.

  • Help me up my friend
  • Dust me off
  • Feed me warmth
  • You are comfort
  • Let me lean on you until I can stand alone
  • I will then stand a little taller, and
  • You will be proud to have a friend such as me.

“I am missing you far better than I loved you.’


Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s