Posted in writing

Honor Oneself

Chakra 3 completes the human energy chakra trinity by completing the physical form of power. Chakra 1 is about tribal/group power. Chakra 2 is about the flow of power between yourself to others and back. Chakra 3 is about your personal power to the external world. Chakra 3 is located in the solar plexus.

Illnesses in this area (stomach, pancreas, adrenals, upper intestines, gallbladder, liver, and middle spine) are activated by illnesses due to self-responsibility, self-esteem, fear of rejection, and over-sensitivity to criticism.  Third chakra work is focused on how you relate to people around you and how you understand ourselves. Primary fears in chakra 3 are fears of rejection, criticism, looking foolish, failing to meet your responsibilities, and fear that others will find out your secrets. It also includes all fears related to personal appearance -baldness, obesity, and aging. Primary strengths include self-esteem, self-respect, self-discipline, ambition, the ability to generate action, the ability to handle a crisis, the courage to take risks, generosity, ethics, and  strength of character.

As you develop your sense of self, your intuitive voice becomes your natural and constant source of guidance. No one is born with healthy self-esteem. You must develop it in our process of living. The physical world is your classroom. Will you make choices to enhance your spirit or to drain your power? Challenges in Chakra 3 will, again and again, cause you to evaluate your sense of power and self in relation to the external world. You ‘reorder’ your world when you choose spirit over physical world circumstances. With each choice you make you choose to chain yourself to your circumstances or to allow your spirit to be free. Choose wisely.

Do not confuse personal intuition with prophetic prophesy. They are very different. Intuition is not the ability to see the future. It is the ability to use data energy to make choices in the immediate moment.  It means having the self-esteem to recognize that discomfort or confusion you are feeling actually is directing you to take charge and make choices to lead yourself out of your problem, your stagnation, or your misery. Developing self-esteem is an internal one. If you can maintain your principles, your dignity, your faith without compromising any energy from your spirit, you are considered internally evolved.

Reference: Myss, C. (1996) Anatomy of the Spirit: The Seven Stages of Power and Healing. New York: Three Rivers Press


Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s