Posted in self-improvement, women

Woman Thoughts

gyspy soul

Many of you who know me know that I am a voracious reader. You also know that I am just as voracious at giving books away when I’m done with most of them; passing them on to other people whom I hope will enjoy them as much as I do. However, over the years, there have been a few that have traveled with me from place to place; faithful friends that I reach for once a year or so. This year, however, I felt the urge to even give away some of my faithful friends.  Books of poetry and books with stories that connect with my soul have been given away to friends whom I hope will find valuable things in them as I did. Here are some final thoughts from some of those books:

From A Year By the Sea by Joan Anderson:

Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves. Do not know seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps you will then gradually, without noticing it, live along some distant day into the answers. – Rainer Maria Rilke

Animals may aid us in our everyday lives, in our dreams, our meditations. Since they were created before humans, they are closer to God and can act as allies, guides, and familars in our search for wholeness. –  An Inuit Woman

Woman must come to age by herself. She must find her true center alone.  – Anne Morrow Lindbergh.

We cannot write in water…we cannot carve in water. Water’s nature is to flow and that is how we should treat life…emotion, negative or positive. Do not deny it, but always let it flow through and then away. – Anonymous

To arrive where you are, to get there from where you are not, you must go by a way wherein there is no ecstasy.  – T.S. Elliott

I wake to sleep, and take my waking slow. I feel my fate in what I cannot fear. I learn by going where I have to go. – Theodore Roethke

One is not born a woman, one becomes one. – Simone de Beauvoir

If it is a woman’s function to give, then she must be replenished too. – Anne Morrow Lindbergh

I must live a little each day, greet the sun as it rises and revel in its setting, swim naked, sip coffee and wine by the shore, generate great ideas, admire myself, talk to animals, meditate, laugh, risk adventures. I must try to be soft, not hard; fluid, not rigid; tender, not cold; find rather than seek. I have been embraced by the sea, tested by the elements, emptied by anxiety,  cleansed with fresh thought. In the process, I have discovered myself. – written by Joan Anderson, but could have just as easily written by me. 

 

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

