Posted in spiritual/religious

 Inner Peace Brings Outward Strength

peace

Years ago, I read the book The Gifts from the Sea by Anne Morrow Lindberg. I loved it and gave many copies away as gifts. Some of my friends got it, and some did not. The quote below is just one of the reasons I resonated with the book so deeply:

I want first of all to be at peace with myself. I want a singleness of eye, a purity of intention. At my central core, I want to live in grace. Grace is an inward and outward harmony. My prayer is that the outward and inward become one.

This is my prayer too. To paraphrase Mary Slessor, there must be a quiet place where all is in order. There must be a place from which energy comes that overcomes the turbulence of the world and is not intimidated by it. To bring this thought home with ultimate clarity we go to Ralph Waldo Emerson:

It is easy in the world to live after the world’s opinion. It is easy in solitude to live after our own. But the great man is he who in the midst of the crowd keeps with perfect sweetness the independence of solitude.

These have been current goals. I want my outward and my inward cores to be one-hundred percent integrated. I want to be so integrated that I can always stand calm in the turbulence of the day. I also want to keep the sweet innocence that I tap into when I’m alone and simply being. In metaphor, I want to be a strong and mighty warrior with a graceful demeanor. What are yours?

 

CITE:  Ordering Your Private World by Gordon MacDonald

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

