Posted in writing

Thank you cousins

cousin

Thank you to all my dear cousins who were there for me at different parts of my life, many who have reconnected through the magic of Facebook.

To Mary Lou and Martha, whose parents cared for me when my sister and her family were killed; who were always there when other family tragedies struck and fun times occurred; and who came around to check on my parents  and debate politics with me regularly.

To Deloris, who was my walking to school companion, and whose grace and beauty I admired and admire still.

To Laquita, who took me under her arm and into her home often to teach me badminton, tennis, volleyball, picnics, hanging at the community pool, sunning, and all the normal childhood summer activities. You have a true servant’s heart.

To Shannon, whose sweet,innocent spirit inspires me still, who made trips to the country fun, and who wore shorts and pants like me despite our uncles’ raised eyebrows.

To Rodney, whose hours of ghost story telling, marble playing, and giggles forged a commonality  that was also based on being the baby of the family and thus caregivers of our family unit. And for the beautiful eulogy you gave our mother.

To Vernon, whose beautiful, heartfelt prayer at mother’s funeral soared through the roof and straight to heaven, and for the plaques you made for me to give as Christmas gifts decades ago.

To Patty and Laura, who helped me to understand the mysteries behind my father’s side of the family, and for our parrot head meals and events.

To Joe, gone now but forever in my heart, who lived life on his own terms and whose outrageous sense of being I loved so much.

To all of you who came out so beautifully to support me and our family in a dozen different ways, especially when paying final respects to our  father and our mother without even being asked.  They were  beautiful expressions of familiar love, of coming together that I will never forget. To all my cousins, though we are apart, you are loved.

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

