Posted in Prayer, Spiritual/Religious

God’s Love at a Bus Stop

gods-love2

Over the years, I’ve watched a lot of evangelism attempts – the overeager youths who are so excited with the story that they turn off people with their excitement, the ‘choose Jesus or burn in eternal fire you horrible sinner’ approach, and a lot of others in between. Today I had a lovely conversation with a man whom I believe has a great approach. Read our conversation below and let me know what you think.

Me: Waiting at the bus stop after work, a bus pulled up, not mine; a smiling man rolled out on a scooter. I smiled and made room for him to exit.

Him: He stopped in front of me, looked at me for a moment, and asked, “Do you have anything that needs prayer today?”

Me: I thought about for a moment, smiled brightly, and said, “No, but thank you so much for asking me, you made my day.”

Him: “Do you have a relationship with the Lord?”

Me:  “Yes, since I was 7.”

Him: Reached into his messenger bag and gave me a booklet, “Good, here is a book you can pass along then.”

Me: Smiled and put the book in my backpack, “Thank you, I will.”

And that was it; simple. No hesitation, no drama, no discomfort, just sharing God’s love in a simple, Christ-like manner. Why did I like this so much? I think because he offered to do something for me first, then shared his message. He didn’t jump right in with bible verses or the 4-point plan of salvation. He asked me what I needed. I don’t think I’ve seen that before. However, I think it’s an excellent way to share the message of God’s love.

Author:

Dr. Sheila Embry is a govie, author, pracademician, sister, aunt, cousin, and friend who loves to read, write, think, and laugh. Many of her blog postings are summaries or excerpts of books that she read and wants to share to encourage others. An author with more than 25 years experience within the legislative and executive branches of the U. S. federal government holding 3 accredited degrees: Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership, Master of Arts in Human Resources Development, and Baccalaureate of Business Administration, she believes in continuing learning both on and off the job. She has been recognized with multiple professional and writing awards for her peer-reviewed, publications. Click the bibliography page above for a listing of all the publications.

Leave a Reply

