Posted in Spiritual/Religious

My Secret Identity

 As you search from goal to goal, what do you feel? Do you feel the moment’s satisfaction of completing the goal, or obtaining the object – the car, the house, the vacation – then followed by the ‘what’s next?’ feeling? It seems we are never completely satisfied with what we do, what we have, and who we are.  In Hebrews this is listed as, ‘longing for a better country.’

 “All the things that have ever deeply possessed your soul have been but hints of it – tantalizing glimpses, promises never quite fulfilled, echoes that died away just as they caught your ear. It is a secret signature of each soul that is incommunicable.”

Part of my journey has been an appetite toward self-discovery. I am always excited when I can peel away another layer and discover another part of myself. But then, I start digging again to see what else is there. As an avid reader, I do a lot of my digging via reading books and articles of interest. The areas of interest are vast but can be explained by C. S. Lewis.

“Have you noticed that the books you really love are bound together by a secret thread? You know very well what is the common quality that makes you love them, though you cannot put it into words: but most of your friends do not see it at all, and often wonder why liking this you should also like that.”

For me, the yearning to learn more about my identity continues. Based on what is written in Revelations, it will probably continue. Revelations 2:17 states, “God will give us a white stone with your new name written on it – known only to you and Him.” So, based on this, only in heaven (our identity’s birthplace) will I find out who I really am. It will be revealed with my new name, the name only God and I will know. Until then, I will continue my journey and rest along the way after each discovery. And to finish with C S Lewis: “If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”

 

Cite: A Better Country: Preparing for Heaven by Dan Schaefer